Telangana: India gets a new state


View gallery

10 photos

The UPA has after years of flip-flop conceded to the Telangana demand. Telangana is all set to become India's 29th state as the Congress Working Committee urged the government to take constitutional steps in this regard. The new state will comprise of 10 districts including Hyderabad, which will be the common capital for 10 years, during which period the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh will build its own capital. Celebrations broke out in Telangana after the Congress leaders announced the decision. Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Telangana Joint Action Committee and other groups were jubilant. [Read more]

View Comments (21)